Home of the United States Chess Federation Chess in Education Committee 

 

Chess Academy Reading, Math & Chess #1

 

U.S. Chess Federation Chess in Education Committee

 

Chess Academy Home

 

United States Chess Federation

Chess in Education Committee

Committee Chair, F. Leon Wilson

Contact emails: FleonW@chesslearn.com

 University of Texas at Dallas Chess Program Video

Many studies have linked chess programs to improved scores in reading and math, as well as improved self-esteem. With the USCF Chess in Education Committee recently having created a website for K-12 educators wishing to incorporate chess into the school curriculum, teachers are now able to download chess lesson plans and use them in the classroom. These lessons are designed for use in the classroom as part of the regular instructional curriculum. They may also be used as part of an after-school chess program.

In order to access these lesson plans we ask that you join the U.S. Chess Federation. You may join the U.S. Chess Federation online by going to: U.S. Chess Federation Membership.

“We face in our modern, splintered world not only a crisis in education, but more pointedly a crisis of understanding - of thought and of willingness to engage in thought. Thinking tools like chess, help our minds expand, grow comfortable with abstraction and learn to navigate complex systems.” From the book "The Immortal Game" by David Shenk.

 

Upcoming Chess in Education Events:

 

TBA

Author information: https://www.amazon.com/author/alexeyroot

Blog:
http://monroi.com/chess-blog/chess-experts/dr-alexey-root.html

 

Completed Events

Second Koltanowski International Conference on Chess and Education, November 18-19, 2011

ChessFest, The University of Texas at Dallas, February 22-23, 2011

USCF Chess in Education Workshop at the U.S. Open in Indianapolis, August 6, 2009

 

University of Texas at Dallas Chess Fest, February 24-25, 2009

 

USCF Chess in Education Workshop at the U.S. Open in Dallas, August 7, 2008

 

Chess in Education Workshop in Houston, Texas (March 8, 2008)

 

Aberdeen, Scotland Chess in Education Conference 2007

 

Slides from the Texas Chess Association  Chess in Education Workshop (March 17, 2007)

 

Slides from the 2006 USCF Chess in Education Workshop in Oakbrook, IL (August 11-12, 2006)

2011-2012 USCF Chess in Education Committee Members:

 

Committee Chair

FLeonW@chesslearn.com

   

Committee Members

Email Address

   

GM Maurice Ashley

firstblackgm@aol.com

John P. Buky

chessteacher@comcast.net

Dr. Joseph Eberhard, ED.D.

jeberhard@aliceisd.esc2.net

rhinotrainer@hotmail.com

Dr. Kenneth A. Kiewra

kkiewra@unlserve.unl.edu

Mikhail Korenman

mKorenman@yahoo.com

Ed Larkin

elarkin1@mac.com

Harlan Lee

hlee@belleviewcollege.edu

Leslie B. Lipschultz

info@schoolchess.com

Fernando Moreno

Morenofe@aol.com

Tony Pabon

tpabon@earthlink.net

Chet Parks

chet@omni41.com

Daniel Parmet

danielparmet@gmail.com

Tim Redman

redmanink@yahoo.com

Dr. Alexey Root

alexey.root@gmail.com

Dr. Loren R. Schmidt

loren@schmidt.net

Stephen Shutt

stephenshutt@yahoo.com

Rodney Thomas

rjtiii@sbcblobal.net

Will Tseng

tsengw@chess.net

Elizabeth Vicary

evicary@yahoo.com

Student Members:

Brianna Conley

bri3c@aol.com

Alexandra Wiener

alexandra.wiener@aol.com

EB LIAISON:

Mike Nietman

mike.nietman@charter.net

OFFICE LIASON:

Patricia K Smith

patsmith@uschess.org

 

  View and Sign the Guestbook

For any questions or concerns about this website please contact J. Buky at chessteacher@comcast.net

 

Hit Countert